Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Fish Disease Treatment
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/15/2017, 03:40 PM   #1
VanJuKy
Registered Member

Thinking about hitting the reset button.

Hi all,

I have been a lurker around here for many, many years. Never really contributed to the conversations, instead just took pleasure in reading as needed. I have been keeping marine fish/corals since about 1993 and never really had any issues with disease except for my first 33 gallon tank way back then. At that time, over enthusiasm led me to put 6 fish in that new tank within two weeks. Results were as expected and I started over.
I had a large 135 gallon tank for a long time which eventually became a soft coral reef. I never practiced quarantine procedures back then but, did rely on fresh water dips when adding new fish. Ozone and UV were used on my system all the time. Five years ago I sold that setup.
Last year I started gutting the bottom of my house in preparation of a new 300 gallon SPS and LPS reef. Fast forward to the last 8 weeks and where I am now. System has water in it but no corals yet. I have a total of 5 fish QT tanks and 1 coral quarantine tank. My tank was cycled (actually ran for 3 months before fish). I have used a combination of Prazipro and Cupramine on everyone. My first loss in quarantine came 4 weeks in. A Hippo Tang got spooked when I walked into the fish room. Swam right into the end of the tank and knocked himself out. He slowly came back over a few hours but for two days swam around with a weird head bob before perishing. I accidentally killed off a few others including a PBT by using Microacter7 with Cupramine.

I have a large Purple Tang that even though it got a bad case of ich while using meds, I have brought him back to health. He was breathing hard and got covered in white spots fairly quickly.