Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/22/2015, 08:33 PM   #1
ZenAle
Registered Member

Overflow Completely Silent – but what’s my Risk?

Fellow Reefers:

I am relatively new to the hobby and attempting to setup a 92g aquarium in my living room. My 45g sump is located in the basement, and I finally finished plumbing everything up and just have RODI water running through the system. The aquarium came with a MegaFlow Durso but I noticed it’s very noisy no matter what I do. I’ve tried all the tricks I could find (varying heights, air vent w/wo tubing, etc) but most of the noise seems to be coming from air in the drain line after the bulkhead and before the sump.

Given that my aquarium is “reef ready”, it came predrilled with 1” drain and ¾ return holes. I’ve done a lot of research, and figured I would quickly simulate the Herbie method by creating a full syphon by closing the hole in my durso cap and tuning my drain line to match the return. To my great surprise, it became completely dead silent to the point where I can’t even tell its running. Awesome!

Based on the research I’ve done, it seems that the biggest concern with the Herbie is that if the drain line should become blocked, the water in the display tank might overflow. To reduce and/or eliminate this risk, the suggestion is to add an emergency drain line that would take over if needed. However based on my current setup, I cannot figure out why I need to install the emergency drain. I must be missing something so I figured I would ask the community first.