Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 09/15/2015, 10:23 PM   #1
TheEndIsNeigh
Registered Member

Sump right next to tank w/o drilling?

Hey guys!

I was wondering if anyone had any bright ideas, forums, or directions they could point me in for what I'm trying to accomplish. I've been interested in adding a refugium to my current nano system. I have a 10g IM Nuvo with the stock skkye light, stock pump. I have it on a dresser that has enough room to put another 5 or 10g right next to it that could be a nice refugium. My space is a little limited in my current residence, so that's the only option I really have. I've never set up a sump of any sorts, so I'm sorts of a total noob. I'm confident in my abilities to figure it out if pointed in the right direction, I'm a jr. Maintenance Tech for a college campus, I have some experience in plumbing and power tools. :P

If it's at all possible, I was hoping to get this figured out without drilling the nuvo, and without a high chance of pumping water all over the place. I'm willing to spend a few extra bucks for safety. I was also thinking it'd look pretty neat if the refugium was a second nuvo aquarium right next to it. If the system would benefit from the other tank being shorter, a standard 5-10, I would definitely compromise. I imagine there's a good way to make use of the nuvo's build in tiny sump system in the back to get this done.

Does anyone have any magic bullets, or am I asking a bit much of the system? Looking forward to ideas! Even if they're not exactly what I had in mind.

TheEndIsNeigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/16/2015, 01:33 PM   #2
rosterv
Registered Member

I would like to get in on this as well! Basically to add a sump or refugium without drilling into your existing tank?