Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 09/20/2017, 07:26 AM   #1
Nicolayo
Registered Member

I need help with high calcium level.

Hello.
This is my first time asking a question on this forum, although I'm not a novice in our hobby and I have a reef aquarium for 11 years.
I changed many ways of denitrification in my aquarium. At the moment, I use the "korallenzucht" method (denitrification with zeolites) based at ULNS level.
The problem is that SPS corals looking bad, polyps are not open, there is no growth, and some have bleach in the lower part of the coral. In the opinion of my guru, it is possible that this is a problem of prolonged exposure to high levels of calcium, which has not been declining for a year now.
The tank is 280 liters net.
In the tank with a dozen frags of SPS and a dozen LPS.
Of fish, only a flock of 6 chromises.
Already for a long time I can not stabilize the level of calcium, I have it 485 and does not decrease, like magnesium.
Phosphate - 0 (Hanna checker)
Nitrit - 0 (Tropic Marine)
Nitrat - 0 (Tropic Marine)
Calcium-485 (Tropic Marine)
Magnesium - 1400 (Tropic Marine)
KH - 6.8 (Tropic Marine)
Potassium - 400 (Salifert)
Salinity - 1.025 (I use salt of Korallenzucht)
Before, I did not measure potassium, and when I measured I purchased the "Salifert" test, the level was low, 320.
I raised it to 400 (in the method of korallenzucht, this parameter is one of the most important), but nothing has changed.
On the advice of the owner (my guru) of the store, I did one trick that helped him more than once, and this is a temporary decrease in salinity to 1.022, which, as we know, should lead to a decrease in the levels of calcium and magnesium. Further leveling the remaining parameters (KH to 8 and K to 400), helps the corals to begin to absorb calcium.