Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/10/2013, 08:09 PM   #1
dfleary
Premium Member

Question Potentially dumb question - Second Power Bar 8 vs. I/O Breakout Box

I know this probably seems like a dumb question for a lot of people, but I'm not a tekkie when it comes to electronics, and I have no prior experience with a Neptune Apex Crontroller (nor any other aquarium controller).

I have a standard Neptune Apex Controller with the Power Bar 8, and I know that you can attach a second one to the first. How do you connect them together, and once they are connected together, how are the outlets numbered/labeled in the system?

Also, what is the point of adding an I/O Breakout Box? What does this device do as opposed to adding a second Powerbar 8?

Current Tank Info: 120 Gal. Marine
dfleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/10/2013, 09:49 PM   #2
myst
Premium Member

I'll +1 this, curious to know the answer as well

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk 4 Beta

myst is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/11/2013, 01:41 AM   #3
sanababit
Registered Member

Another eb8 (energybar 8) conects thru the aqua bus cable that comes with it, the module will name the module and give it an aquabus number on each ouet of the bar ex. Name (could be skimmer, lights, etc) 5-1 which means energy bar number 5 (this is the number that got assinged) outlet number 1, so on

The breakout box is used with floats to sense if they are closed or open and sends the info to the apex brain to be translated and take appropiate actions, hope all this makes sense

Sana

Current Tank Info: 90RR inwall, Octopuss Skimmer, 2 MP40 wQD, 1 MP10 WQD, 2 Radions G4 Pro, Apex Doser, Apex Controller, 400w heater, 30 Gal Sump, Biopellets, Carbon, Gfo, Macroalgae
sanababit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/12/2013, 06:48 PM   #4
slief
RC Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanababit View Post