Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/17/2018, 02:30 PM   #1
BioNub
Registered Member

Corals Dying not Opening

Hi,

Im fairly new to the hobby, have had my bioCube in place since october last year and everything has been working great until recently, about 2 or 3 weeks back, I noticed some of Corals are not opening like they used to and others are turning white and look like they are dying. Also, alot of my hermits are dying too, everyday Ill find one or two dead on the sand bed.

I do BiWeekly water changes and have always used OceanWater From PETCO, I have the 32g BioCube with stock LED lights, and I usually change 5g every 2 weeks, the Temperature sits around 77 degrees for the most part, and my readings are doing pretty good from what I can gather.

All I have is a clown, a goby and pistol, 2 shrimps, and a mandarin goby. Please help, I don't want the rest of my Corals dying, though the rest seem to be doing okay

pH: 8.4
Amonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 7
Phosphate: .15
Alkalinity: 9
Calcium: 420

Any help is greatly appreciated,
Also, does anyone know the name of these corals Attached in the 2 pictures so I can do some more reasearch on them?
Thank you.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180116_150942.jpg (44.5 KB, 89 views)
File Type: jpg 20180101_094031.jpg (69.5 KB, 80 views)
BioNub is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/17/2018, 03:50 PM   #2
DivingTheWorld
Registered Member

I'd say your phosphates are very high. With only two fish, that seems improbable unless you're over feeding or you have stuff leaching out of your rocks. How old is the tank? Do you run anything to remove phosphate? I'm not familiar with the stock LEDs on a biocube, but possibly also a lighting issue?

I personally don't trust water from fish stores (especially Petco), I only make my own.

Unread 01/17/2018, 04:04 PM   #3
Cloudburst2000