Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/04/2017, 08:39 PM   #1
Goubli
Registered Member

Let's collaborate on a RSM-S 650 (138g new setup)!

Firstly, let me introduce myself to the forum and RC community! Quick background for me is I have over 12 years of experience with saltwater, and after an 8.5 year break, I am back baby. I've been refamiliarizing myself with some of the major changes since my hiatus. Back when I had my old softy/LPS and fish reef I was on more of a shoestring budget and I always dreamed of the day when I'd have the bankroll to not cut corners or DIY as much.

That day has arrived my friends

I must admit that d2mini's Elos build really kicked this project into gear. (Thanks d2!). I'm not sure I can make a build thread as good as that one, but I will try to keep this going as a motivation for me to do it the right way versus rushing it.

In fact, this tank will be my test/project tank. I will remodel my home in a few years, and if I find that I am really enjoying being back in the hobby (as if I won't-haha!) then I will plan out a full custom job for the remodel. I've always wanted to try my hand at SPS and some mix of others so as to compare it to my experience with softies. Plus, during this test phase I should have some time to grow some sweet colonies to potentially transfer to the custom build.

I want to try and use this thread as a way to help me decide on the equipment to get and I will also try and document in detail my experiences with them so as to give feedback to this great community.

I've already had some luck as an RC member- mwcahill-is getting out right when I'm getting in and I have purchased his RSM S 650 and a fair amount of his system. Currently, we are planning to have the tank moved on Jan 13. I just put all of his old rock out to dry in the sun today, and also pulled out a 15" plus Bobbit worm!