Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/18/2015, 08:51 AM   #1
dinger28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indian Land, SC
Posts: 385
Inline TDS meter vs handheld

Hey guys. So recently i replaced my filter cartridges and DI resin in my BRS 5 stage RO/DI system. Unfortunately I forgot to flush out the system and started filling up my 60 gallon ato container. The water last night read 002 coming in and 000 going out into the barrel from my inline tds meter. However, my handheld read 006. This morning was still the same, but my handheld was 456! Could this be a faulty handheld tds? Which one do you guys trust the most? Thanks!

Matt


dinger28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2015, 08:52 AM   #2
dinger28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indian Land, SC
Posts: 385
Also, do you think my not flushing out the system hurt it by chance? Thanks again!


dinger28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2015, 08:56 AM   #3
Mock
Saltwater Junkie
 
Mock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 669
I am thinking faulty handheld by chance, never trusted them. If you changed all your filters and I dont think not flushing the RO membrane is enough to cause the meters to have such a wide gap in readings. If your water going in is 500 and its going through DI resin, a filter particle and a carbon block there is no way its still at 456 or so..... Regardless of the RO membrane.


__________________
250g In-Wall, 75g fuge, 40g sump, 20g frag tank, Aqua Euro PS-400, RK Elite, 2x400w 14k Halides, 2 MP40s, MRC-6
Mock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2015, 09:10 AM   #4
FishN00b83
Registered Member
 
FishN00b83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,133
was the container cleaned? I know if I just fill my brute can with rodi it's not going to read 0. it will still have residue from the last batch of salt water and read extremely high. the water coming out of the unit is indeed 0 tds though. you might just need to clean the container.


__________________
My 125 to 180 thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2525019
FishN00b83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2015, 10:22 AM   #5
dinger28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indian Land, SC
Posts: 385
I didn't clean the barrel after the 50 gallon water change. Wasn't thought that I had to, but will if that could be the reason. Also, what do you suggest I clean the pickle barrel with? Thanks!


dinger28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2015, 10:29 AM   #6
Mock
Saltwater Junkie
 
Mock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishN00b83 View Post
was the container cleaned? I know if I just fill my brute can with rodi it's not going to read 0. it will still have residue from the last batch of salt water and read extremely high. the water coming out of the unit is indeed 0 tds though. you might just need to clean the container.
I have actually never tested the TDS of the water after just seeing that it was 0 after coming out of the RO unit. I might even have to test that. Might be on to something, yet I would not think that it would run up to 456 tds.


__________________
250g In-Wall, 75g fuge, 40g sump, 20g frag tank, Aqua Euro PS-400, RK Elite, 2x400w 14k Halides, 2 MP40s, MRC-6
Mock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/19/2015, 06:55 AM   #7
FishN00b83
Registered Member
 
FishN00b83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinger28 View Post
I didn't clean the barrel after the 50 gallon water change. Wasn't thought that I had to, but will if that could be the reason. Also, what do you suggest I clean the pickle barrel with? Thanks!

you can clean it really good with just rodi water. just scrub it down and rinse a few times. some people use a light vinegar mix to clean it, then rinse. I haven't cleaned my top off container in a long time. I clean it when the kalk is built up on the bottom and sides.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mock View Post
I have actually never tested the TDS of the water after just seeing that it was 0 after coming out of the RO unit. I might even have to test that. Might be on to something, yet I would not think that it would run up to 456 tds.

it reads EXTREMELY high if salt residue is on the inside.


__________________
My 125 to 180 thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2525019
FishN00b83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/19/2015, 10:28 AM   #8
dinger28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indian Land, SC
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishN00b83 View Post
you can clean it really good with just rodi water. just scrub it down and rinse a few times. some people use a light vinegar mix to clean it, then rinse. I haven't cleaned my top off container in a long time. I clean it when the kalk is built up on the bottom and sides.




it reads EXTREMELY high if salt residue is on the inside.

So does that mean it is truly that high, or is the meter just reading it "wrong?" Thanks!


dinger28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/19/2015, 10:34 AM   #9
FishN00b83
Registered Member
 
FishN00b83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinger28 View Post
So does that mean it is truly that high, or is the meter just reading it "wrong?" Thanks!

im not sure, but I would say it is truly that high. when you mix saltwater you are putting all kinds of elements and nutrients back into the rodi. so you're not looking for a low tds in saltwater, just the purified water before you add the salt mix.


__________________
My 125 to 180 thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2525019
FishN00b83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/03/2015, 06:12 AM   #10
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,857
No - you don't need to clean your DI barrel every time you use it.

Are you saying you stuck your handheld tds meter into the water in the barrel to take a reading? If so, that's at least part of the problem.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hose water, inline tds, rodi, tds meter

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.