Reef Central Online Community
Blue Zoo Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/09/2018, 10:00 AM   #1
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
GHL Doser 2.1

I am having an issue with my GHL doser 2.1.

I use it as a stand alone unit to dose Carbon, Calcium, and Alkalinity supplements.

The doser is giving me a warning to "check filling level" on all three active pumps. However, there doesn't seem to be anything I can do to fix the warning, so the light is just blinking yellow, despite the unit dosing the aquarium.

Any help here? I looked on the GHL forum but the site is difficult to read and navigate so I may have missed my answer.

Any suggestions are appreciated in advance.


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2018, 10:16 AM   #2
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
Do you have the app? Or, just login to MyGHL and check your container fill levels. Also, check the minimum level warning. If you add liquid, just select the refill container tab and enter the amount. Don't forget to save the settings by hitting the save tab that looks like a floppy disk.


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2018, 01:05 PM   #3
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
I've been using the App, no computer near tank that runs windows, which also seems to make it impossible to connect the doser to the internet (to use myGHL).

As far as the levels go the doser only thinks 43 ml of 3500 ml have been dispensed, it seems to no longer want to keep track.


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2018, 03:38 PM   #4
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
Do you have the latest firmware? Also, GHL has a presence here and on other forums, you could post there?
If you know the amount left in the containers (or roughly know), then just refill the containers with the current amount and see if that clears the warning? Do you have MyGHL enabled for use when you set up the doser?


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 05:43 AM   #5
RobZilla04
Registered Member
 
RobZilla04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,837
If you never connected the doser to your WiFi you'll never be able to connect to it via the app.

The warning is because the fill level set for each pump container has reached the desired/preset "low" volume. The pump takes the "set" full container volume and subtracts each time it doses. These values are programmed by the user in either the app or windows based software when connected.

You'll need to connect the doser to a computer with the software to "refill" the containers to stop the warning. While in there set the doser up to connect to your WiFi and use the app on a smart device. Much easier that way.


__________________
90g Mixed Reef
RobZilla04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 08:22 AM   #6
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
I can connect to the doser via the app by connecting my phone or tablet to its wifi signal, as opposed to my home's wifi. I just don't seem to be able to make the doser connect to home's wifi to then get it online. Is there additional options via myghl that aren't presented on the app?

I have set the fill level to 3500 ml, the doser thinks it has dispensed 35 ml. It now has a 0 crossed out next to the line "daily fill amount" and so has stopped counting. I have tried chaning that number, the alarm does not clear, though the number changes. When I connect it to my computer do I need to set the fill amount to a different level (i.e. does fill level mean size of container or am I reading it wrong?)?


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 08:23 AM   #7
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
I think the firmware is 1.04 or something like that, but the dose is brand new, even waited two months for GHL to make more before I got it.


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 08:40 AM   #8
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
Are you using the latest "Connect" app? If so, then you should be up to date on firmware? With the new connect app, you should be able to edit/change wifi settings, etc....?

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ghl-...t/id1295021795


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 08:46 AM   #9
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
The app does not show on my phone as being in need of updating.

Yeah, I can change the wifi settings, even after typing everything (subnet, ip address, etc, etc) the doser cannot be found by myGHL, so I assume it isn't connected to my home's wifi. Also, when I select auto detect the ip address is not auto populated.

Eitherway, I am still not sure how to reset the fill container warning.


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 10:06 AM   #10
RobZilla04
Registered Member
 
RobZilla04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,837
Possible that the firmware is in need of updating especially since it is new. Many times hardware ships without the manufacturer ensuring the latest software has been updated.

The container volume and refill are separate in the app.

If I remember correctly I had to plug the doser into a laptop to set up the WiFi. Once that was done, I was able to connect to it with the Android GHL Control app.

Try posting in the GHL Sponsor Forum section:

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=527


__________________
90g Mixed Reef
RobZilla04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 01:07 PM   #11
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
I will try over there, thanks!


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/10/2018, 03:50 PM   #12
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
Did you set up the doser without a PC? That's my only gripe about GHL, having to use a PC for initial set up. I'm a mac guy, so I wasn't too happy about using a PC, but fortunately I bought a PC laptop for my son (school work), but still, it was a PITA to do. I know they are going towards doing every over the cloud, so that's a step in the right direction.
As suggested above, contacting them (Marco, USA rep) via the sponsors forum is the way to go. Good luck!


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2018, 10:15 AM   #13
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
They just updated the app today, so it looks like the app settings and device settings will be synced, including MyGHL.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2018, 12:46 PM   #14
afm32607
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 270
That might be helpful. I have a mac as well and my windows partition is windows 7 i believe, which someone said had issues. I will see if updating the app helps, if not I'm going to have to update to windows 10 and try again.


afm32607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2018, 02:54 PM   #15
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
They will send you the right file that allows you to update the firmware. The PC I used was older, so Marco sent me the right file and it worked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.