Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/13/2011, 09:31 AM   #1
Emmanuel75
Registered Member
 
Emmanuel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 283
Question TDS Creep

Ok, so today I was about to do another small water change as to continue to keep my parameters in check. I test my TDS from my RODI about every other week to make sure I'm not adding Phosphates into my system. My phosphates are at a .04. Due to a faulty API test kit, I didn't know that my Nitrates were at an alarming 25ppm (THANKS LFS)! So, my plan to gradually fix my numbers is to do small 6 gallon water changes daily until they are back in line then revert back to weekly 10%.

I tested my RODI water and it has crept up to 5ppm. I have only had my RODI unit for a month, however when I purchased the RODI it tested at 1ppm. All cartridges and resin was brand new, but I figured that 1ppm should not have been detrimental. I'm starting to suspect the TDS meter now because testing my tap water it gives an error message. However testing after membrane it tests at 23ppm, but after two stages of DI it tests at 5ppm? BTW it is a 6 stage Titan Water Pro RODI unit. I've checked the connections, flushed the membrane, I'm not sure what else to try. I don't have another meter or I'd try a different one incase this one is faulty.

Any other suggestions? I'd like to get my to my water changes but don't want to poison my system more in the process.


__________________
75 Gallon RR DT, 40 Gallon Eshoppes ADV-300 Sump/Refugium, H&S 150-2001 Skimmer, BRS HC-GFO, BRS ROX, 2 Apollo dimmable LEDS.
210 RR DT In Progress
Emmanuel75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2011, 12:29 PM   #2
b0bab0ey
Moved On
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,564
Are you saying your RODI output is 5 and your waste water (RO) is 23? That's not too bad IMO and probably not your problem. But my RODI is 6 months old and still reading 1. Have you ever tested your tap water? What reading do you get there?


b0bab0ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2011, 12:34 PM   #3
briankmarsh1980
I'm a member of **!!!!!!
 
briankmarsh1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maricopa, Arizona
Posts: 2,127
if everything is brand new you should be reading 0 out of the unit.....

I would post your question here to get some professional help

http://reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=229


EDIT: the TDS coming into my unit runs between 800-900ppm out of my membrane it reads 13-15 and 0 out of the DI's and as soon as it jumps to 001 I change my DI this happens about every 400gallons or so


__________________
My skim don't stink
_______________________________________________________________

210 gallons with stuff!!!!!!!
briankmarsh1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2011, 01:40 PM   #4
shifty51008
12-5 Chiefs record
 
shifty51008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 10,134
I would deff. get a calibration fluid for your TDS meter, if your getting an error on your tap water, you either have very horriable water or the meter is wrong.

calibrate that 1st then check the water and let us know.


__________________
75 gal. mixed DT, 100 gal. sump, 50 gal. fuge,

Clownfish breeder
shifty51008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2011, 05:47 AM   #5
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,857
Need a little more info to help you.

First we need 3 TDS readings - you've provided 2:
Tap water TDS: ??
RO water TDS: 23 PPM
DI water TDS: 5 PPM

What is your water pressure at the membrane when the system is running?

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2011, 09:30 PM   #6
Emmanuel75
Registered Member
 
Emmanuel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 283
It is weird. I dumped my container and rinsed it out. After letting it run, I refilled my container again and it now tested at 0tds! I tested it again by testing water from the membrane then again the DI. So, I probably had something in the container that was throwing off the meter.

I'm still getting the calibration fluid just in case.

Thanks guys for your help!

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk


__________________
75 Gallon RR DT, 40 Gallon Eshoppes ADV-300 Sump/Refugium, H&S 150-2001 Skimmer, BRS HC-GFO, BRS ROX, 2 Apollo dimmable LEDS.
210 RR DT In Progress
Emmanuel75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/15/2011, 04:42 AM   #7
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,857
In general, its not good practice to meause the TDS of your DI water directly from a storage container.

Remember that you are reading in parts per million, so even the slightest "contamination" in your storage container will skew the reading.

Test the TDS of your tap water using a clean glass container.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/03/2015, 12:05 PM   #8
Dbondaruk
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Harrisonburg,VA
Posts: 706
Ok this a old tread but I had a question. I been battling hair algae for couple months. My rods was reading 0 out of the du resin to I never figured to check anything else. Today I decided to check my TOP OFF bin and the TDS was 580. I saw some dust in the bottom container. So now I am cleaning the top off bin. It's a brute 34 gallon can. I went to my garage and checked my rodi mixing station. It had about 5 gallons of water that sat at the bottom for like 2 weeks due to mixing station pump doesn't get all water out of containers. I filled it up overnight with rodi water. Water coming from the unit 3 TDS. Out of the du resin 0. Now why is my storage container showing me that I have 56 TDS in the bin. Should I dump it out and clean bin.


Dbondaruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/03/2015, 12:28 PM   #9
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,857
You'll never get that type of storage container absolutely clean, and if you do, it wont stay that way for long


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/03/2015, 01:37 PM   #10
alf1096
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 399
Tagging along I too use trash cans but don't have a way to test the tds in the can because I only have an inline meter.


__________________
125 gal DT with 30 Sump, ReefBreeders LEDs, Mixed Reef
alf1096 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/04/2015, 03:40 AM   #11
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,857
Most people don't test the TDS in the reservoir...


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/12/2015, 12:59 PM   #12
Dbondaruk
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Harrisonburg,VA
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye Hydro View Post
Most people don't test the TDS in the reservoir...
Ok thanks I found out why i had high tds in my top off resovoir. I pump water from my garage that's about 60 feet through a 1 inch pvc pipe. So here is what happens. I usually flush about 2 gallons of water at my sump when I switch between salt water and rodi water. My mixing change station is in the garage as well as the rodi machine. My top off container is next to sump. I pump saltwater and rodi water thru the same pipe to sump. When I fill my top off container that's where the tds comes in. A little bit of saltwater still remains in the pipe. I filled top off bin full. Tds shows 160. When I just started filling bin tds showed 600. But the water coming from the garage shows 2 tds. Coming out the rodi machine is 0. I keep it maintained very well.

My question is. Is that a major problem that a little saltwater gets tracked into my top off bin throwing the tds meter off. I did a sample and it take just a little bit of saltwater to throw off a gallon of water with 0 tds. I tested by adding a tablespoon of salt water and it threw the reading off. Thanks for the help fellas.


Dbondaruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/12/2015, 01:12 PM   #13
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,857
Seawater reads about 35,000 to 45,000 ppm.

When you top off you are replacing pure H20 that evaporated, so the textbook answer is that pure H2O is what you should top off with. Considering you have a 34 gallon reservoir, I don't think "a little bit" of saltwater in there would be much of an issue. I guess it depends upon what "a little bit" is. (Had a Bill Clinton flashback for a second there).

As long as you keep an eye on the salinity in your tank over time, you should be OK.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/12/2015, 01:14 PM   #14
Dbondaruk
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Harrisonburg,VA
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye Hydro View Post
Seawater reads about 35,000 to 45,000 ppm.

When you top off you are replacing pure H20 that evaporated, so the textbook answer is that pure H2O is what you should top off with. Considering you have a 34 gallon reservoir, I don't think "a little bit" of saltwater in there would be much of an issue. I guess it depends upon what "a little bit" is. (Had a Bill Clinton flashback for a second there).

As long as you keep an eye on the salinity in your tank over time, you should be OK.

Russ

Ok thanks a lot for the info.


Dbondaruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphate, rodi, tds, tds meter, testing

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anti-TDS creep auto top-off sivert55 Neptune Systems 6 10/02/2008 03:41 AM
tds creep? jck9 Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 10 12/12/2007 10:11 PM
Anti TDS Creep Storage Tank - No Electricity? Swarf Do It Yourself 44 12/06/2006 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.