Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 12/06/2018, 06:21 PM   #1
aravindk
Registered Member

Basement sump & HVAC

Hello,

I have my sump in the unfinished part of the basement where the water heater, gas furnace and washer/dryers also co-exist. I have been using this setup for over 10 years and as you can imagine, the rust eat everything up. Couple of months ago I had to replace the washer/dryer. Next up is the furnace. It is completely rusted and I already got a warning from utility company that they are going to void the warranty because this is not really normal wear and tear. I have to replace the furnace as it is about time anyway. Now I want to understand what I can do to control and manage the rusting situation in the basement.

1. I have put an exhaust based on what I read. The exhaust pushes the air outside the house and it runs 24X7. One of the utility guys said this is a bad idea. Is it really?

2. I dont have a humidifier in there and I see many people are using it. I will probably put one there.

3. Is it a good idea to keep the sump closed? This will hopefully eliminate/minimize the water splashing.

4. Is it a good idea to build a wall around the sump?

Any other ideas/thoughts?

aravindk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/06/2018, 06:53 PM   #2
saveafish
Registered Member

I have 2 @ 150 gallon stock tanks as a sump. They both are uncovered. I don't run a exhaust fan, I just run a dehumidifier. Set at 60-65% humidity.
Note to that, you'll evaporate faster on your water.

Current Tank Info: 400g display build, 300g sump, 75g ATO, 75g refug and a few more. Close to a 1000g. 200g mixing station.
saveafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/06/2018, 07:08 PM   #3
mcgyvr
Registered Member

Run a dehumidifier..

Unread 12/07/2018, 08:41 AM   #4
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member