Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > SPS Keepers
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/05/2019, 07:09 PM   #1
whiterushen
Registered Member

Having a hard time acclimating my SPS corals when received from shipping

Hey all. So i'm new to the SPS world. I've had my tank running for about a year but only started trying to raise SPS corals for 3 months now. I got in a overnight shipment from Texas to Nevada about 6 weeks ago. On this first shipment, the shipping method looked good, but half the corals when i took them out of their cups, the water stunk a little like the corals had been stressing during shipment. The first shipment i only had about a 50% survival rate. Well, 6 weeks later i decided to give it another try. The 2nd shipment, the corals looked way healthier, larger chunkier pieces and i thought it would go well----but just like the original shipment, the SPSs seemed to go through a terrible shock when intoducing into my tank. I talked to the shipper and our parameters are almost identical. Note--- on that first shipment, 2 out of the 5 literally looked 75% dead---what i mean by dead is literally bleached white or skin mostly removed---the weird thing is--- even though i tossed 5 out of the first 10, i desperately stuck with these 2. Before i knew it---after about 2.5 weeks? the 2 almost dead SPSs seemed to literally come back to life!! Even regrowing their skin--- So in this shipment---even more of them look almost dead. I had a LFS owner reccomend trying to give these stressed SPS a iodine dip to bring them back to life. Well, after all that--- i just sit and wait---to see what happens. Does anyone have a reccomendation on what i can do to improve received SPSs when i receive them in overnight shipping to acclimate them better for better survival success?? Much appreciated.

whiterushen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/19/2019, 05:47 PM   #2
whiterushen
Registered Member