Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/11/2017, 11:49 AM   #1
Str8linespeed
Registered Member

Its another Help me decide thread.

Im in the process of gathering equipment to set up a second tank. I have 3 tanks. 53gal, 40B, and 20L. My plan was to create a 40B and a refugium using the 20L. Pretty common setup.

Honestly, I've only owned Red Sea tanks so all the work was done for me. What I cant decide is the type of overflow to make. I've also never done the piping for a tank. Im a pipe fitter by trade, so I know how to pipe, its just the design of it. I dont want to have a catastrophe because I did something wrong, and flood my room.

I've been reading and reading and Im overwhelmed. I could get a simple HOB overflow, but since Im in no hurry to get this tank up and running Im drawn to an internal.

If anyone could point me in a "for sure" proven overflow that would be great. Also some piping designs or links to do proper piping. Google has tons of pages and pictures, but I have no idea if those designs worked out for them.

Str8linespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/11/2017, 12:10 PM   #2
lingwendil
Man who sold the world

Location: Oakley, behind enemy lines in communist occupied California.
I can only assume that you will be drilling this tank, but must ask, how many holes do you plan to drill, and are you okay with them being different sizes? Will you be building a false wall or corner type overflow? These things will influence the designs a bit.

Personally, I like anything with a backup drain that is as large or larger than the main drain, and a single return is usually adequate with auxiliary pumps and flow in the tank separately.

FWIW, the durso is a very klunky and noisy method, and I like the beananimal or herbie setups.

Silent and safe method-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ca1yPPaePfk