Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/15/2018, 03:22 PM   #1
Globalbutterfly
Registered Member

3000sss on 57gal? Obvious Noob...be kind

Ok, first as I state, I am an obvious noob and this is my first “big girl” tank. I have a little Evo 13.5 that I’ve been obsessed with for the past 4-5 months and am ready to step up and get a real reef tank with sump, skimmer etc. I’ve been trying to go slowly and do lots of research before buying anything. Looked at lots of tanks in person & decided I liked the size and dimensions of the Deep Blue RR Rimless (36x18x20) - manageable for me to do all the maintenance & upkeep myself as I learn the ropes without being overwhelming. Decision #1 - Done.

Then I happened to see the exact tank I wanted for sale used on my local reef club forum at a great price. Then I promptly broke my first rule and impulsively bought the tank ALONG with a used SRO Reef Octopus 3000sss at the bundled price of $270.

I now realize it is MASSIVELY oversized for my tank. Will I be still be able to use it? OR did I just buy a very large paperweight?

Globalbutterfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/15/2018, 05:05 PM   #2
LQT
Registered Member

An 8” diameter skimmer will be massively oversized for that size tank unfortunately. You can run it, but it will be very inconsistent as the neck size is huge relative to the bioload that a 57 gallon tank can support. Ask a bunch of questions and be active on these forums. Once you get up to 50 meaningful posts, you gain access to the for sale forums and can sell that skimmer in the classifieds.

Deep Blue 57 Edge ATI Acro Garden Build Thread
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?p=25573384#post25573384

Current Tank Info: DeepBlue 57 Edge
LQT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/15/2018, 05:26 PM   #3
Rover88
Registered Member