Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/06/2017, 03:00 PM   #1
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 3
Top up water

I'm curious if I should areoate my top up water? I feel like it's been dropping my ph in my 29 cube. I have good o2 exchange in my tank between 2 koralia pumps faced upwards, my return upwards and oversized skimmer. Also I did a water change today after mixing my salt ph was 7.5. I use Red Sea coral pro salt and it says not to mix more than 4 hours so I don't want to leave it mixing for awhile. What do you guys do?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2017, 09:30 PM   #2
jubei2006
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: raleigh, nc
Posts: 13
Have you checked any parameters on your mixed Saltwater? Are you dosing anything in your Cube? Are you using a chemical test or lab grade Probe? The redsea mixing instructions request large pump to aerate, sprinkle don't dump salt to unheated ro/di water. Not following could cause caco3 precipitate which could be causing your pH problem.


jubei2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2017, 12:16 PM   #3
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jubei2006 View Post
Have you checked any parameters on your mixed Saltwater? Are you dosing anything in your Cube? Are you using a chemical test or lab grade Probe? The redsea mixing instructions request large pump to aerate, sprinkle don't dump salt to unheated ro/di water. Not following could cause caco3 precipitate which could be causing your pH problem.


I use a 1080gph koralia to mix 5gallon bucket heated to 68 to mix then mixes for about 90 minutes to 76 to 78 to match my tank. I test with API kit i don't have time to use and do scientific experiments often. All elements were at 0 in fresh batch of saltwater. I do not dump I mix a 1/2 cup at a time within 15 minutes I have added all my salt mix to 1.023 then add very last bit to match my tank. Fluctuations are minimal on top up I add water atleast 2x a day not a lot just what I need never drops less than .001


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2017, 02:13 PM   #4
disc1
-RT * ln(k)
 
disc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 9,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini_reefer View Post
All elements were at 0 in fresh batch of saltwater.
Even the calcium and magnesium? That means you forgot to put the salt in. Or did you mean to be a little more specific there.


__________________
David


Current Tank: Undergoing reconstruction...
disc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2017, 02:28 PM   #5
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by disc1 View Post
Even the calcium and magnesium? That means you forgot to put the salt in. Or did you mean to be a little more specific there.


"Forgot to add salt" lol all I'm asking is should I add buffer to my top up water as my ph drops throughout the week that's it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/18/2017, 07:33 AM   #6
homer1475
Registered Member
 
homer1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,398
Ph is dependent on the amount of CO2 in the house/room the tank is located. Circulating your top off water will have 0 effect on your PH.


__________________
80G SCA Build: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2560256

Biocube Build Thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2499945

Nothing in this hobby happens fast!
homer1475 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2017, 06:46 PM   #7
exsequor
Registered Member
 
exsequor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 188
I store my ro/di in a 220g rotomold sealed but no aeration besides new water added every week when I flip on the water / booster (has a float valve, but I have no reason to rely on it right now).

Anyways, what good does circulation do if the water is perfect TDS and PH wise off the gate anyways???


exsequor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:03 PM   #8
Kadee
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
To combat my dropping PH I have added a diy CO2 scrubber to my air intake on my skimmer and kalkwasser in my ato. Works great to maintain my PH 8.2 to 8.3 day and night.


Kadee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014