Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/27/2014, 10:39 AM   #1
Adam54
Registered Member

energy-efficient salt tank

Hi I am new to the saltwater and i am
Building a 200 gallon tank and I would
Like to keep it as energy efficient as passable
Any one have any suggestions.

Adam54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/01/2014, 02:58 PM   #2
Sugar Magnolia
Registered Member

This thread has been moved to the current forum.

The only thing to fear is fear itself....and spiders.
Sugar Magnolia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/01/2014, 03:12 PM   #3
raybyrne67
Registered Member

If you are planning a fish only tank that in itself will save you some cash in initial startup and monthly energy cost. If you are planning a reef system you will spend more on initial setup and monthly energy cost. Research all your purchases for wattage usage. My 75g reef tank cost approximately 20 per month in energy and water usage.

Current Tank Info: 75G, Salinity 1.025, Temp 80.5, Ca 430, Alk 9, Mg 1260, mixed reef, Radion XR30w Gen 2 x2, MP10w ES x2,Vertex 130, Eheim 1260 return, Apex, Tunze ATO
raybyrne67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/01/2014, 03:28 PM   #4
rromans88
Registered Member

I don't think there is such a thing as an energy efficient reef tank. Although I have heard of people using sunlight to light their tanks rather than buying lights.

rromans88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/01/2014, 03:49 PM   #5
James77
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam54 View Post
Hi I am new to the saltwater and i am
Building a 200 gallon tank and I would
Like to keep it as energy efficient as passable
Any one have any suggestions.
Are you looking to keep it energy efficient for the environment or to save cash?
If the latter...what is your electric rate?

Current Tank Info: 120g Mixed Reef and 75g Freshwater