Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/06/2017, 04:00 PM   #1
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 12
Top up water

I'm curious if I should areoate my top up water? I feel like it's been dropping my ph in my 29 cube. I have good o2 exchange in my tank between 2 koralia pumps faced upwards, my return upwards and oversized skimmer. Also I did a water change today after mixing my salt ph was 7.5. I use Red Sea coral pro salt and it says not to mix more than 4 hours so I don't want to leave it mixing for awhile. What do you guys do?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2017, 10:30 PM   #2
jubei2006
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Newton, nc
Posts: 58
Have you checked any parameters on your mixed Saltwater? Are you dosing anything in your Cube? Are you using a chemical test or lab grade Probe? The redsea mixing instructions request large pump to aerate, sprinkle don't dump salt to unheated ro/di water. Not following could cause caco3 precipitate which could be causing your pH problem.


jubei2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2017, 01:16 PM   #3
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jubei2006 View Post
Have you checked any parameters on your mixed Saltwater? Are you dosing anything in your Cube? Are you using a chemical test or lab grade Probe? The redsea mixing instructions request large pump to aerate, sprinkle don't dump salt to unheated ro/di water. Not following could cause caco3 precipitate which could be causing your pH problem.


I use a 1080gph koralia to mix 5gallon bucket heated to 68 to mix then mixes for about 90 minutes to 76 to 78 to match my tank. I test with API kit i don't have time to use and do scientific experiments often. All elements were at 0 in fresh batch of saltwater. I do not dump I mix a 1/2 cup at a time within 15 minutes I have added all my salt mix to 1.023 then add very last bit to match my tank. Fluctuations are minimal on top up I add water atleast 2x a day not a lot just what I need never drops less than .001


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2017, 03:13 PM   #4
disc1
-RT * ln(k)
 
disc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 9,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini_reefer View Post
All elements were at 0 in fresh batch of saltwater.
Even the calcium and magnesium? That means you forgot to put the salt in. Or did you mean to be a little more specific there.


__________________
David


Current Tank: Undergoing reconstruction...
disc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2017, 03:28 PM   #5
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by disc1 View Post
Even the calcium and magnesium? That means you forgot to put the salt in. Or did you mean to be a little more specific there.


"Forgot to add salt" lol all I'm asking is should I add buffer to my top up water as my ph drops throughout the week that's it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/18/2017, 08:33 AM   #6
homer1475
Registered Member
 
homer1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,910
Ph is dependent on the amount of CO2 in the house/room the tank is located. Circulating your top off water will have 0 effect on your PH.


__________________
80G SCA Build: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2560256

Biocube Build Thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2499945

Nothing in this hobby happens fast!
homer1475 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2017, 07:46 PM   #7
exsequor
Registered Member
 
exsequor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 217
I store my ro/di in a 220g rotomold sealed but no aeration besides new water added every week when I flip on the water / booster (has a float valve, but I have no reason to rely on it right now).

Anyways, what good does circulation do if the water is perfect TDS and PH wise off the gate anyways???


exsequor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/27/2017, 08:03 PM   #8
Kadee
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 38
To combat my dropping PH I have added a diy CO2 scrubber to my air intake on my skimmer and kalkwasser in my ato. Works great to maintain my PH 8.2 to 8.3 day and night.


Kadee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2017, 06:02 PM   #9
Khazmodain
Registered Member
 
Khazmodain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 200
Definitely don't add buffering chemicals for the purpose of chasing pH. Any clue what your alk looks like? Do you do your water changes on the weekends and see your pH drop throughout the week? If you can determine that alk is dropping to levels which are too low by the end of the week then it may be of value to supplement alk in topoff with kalkwasser or other means. But I wouldn't recommend blindly boosting alk as a response to low pH.


Khazmodain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2017, 06:36 AM   #10
Ron Reefman
Registered Member
 
Ron Reefman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 10,517
Chasing pH is a fools errand. I have 4 tanks and haven't looked at pH in 4 or 5 years. If pH is that low (7.5) adding buffer is a very temporary solution. What is the pH in the tank before you do the water change? And the pH of the new water?

Either the new water needs to be stirred more, or to get better air (less CO2), or the tank needs better air. Some people feed their skimmer with air from outside the house. Closed houses in the winter or summer can develop high CO2 and that will lower the pH in your water.


__________________
The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it. (Neil deGrasse Tyson)
Visit my build thread http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2593017
Ron Reefman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2017, 08:54 AM   #11
Mini_reefer
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena md
Posts: 12
Thanks everyone for the response!! My tank itself is stable with ph around 8.2 to 8.4 even at night. Lowest I've seen is 8.0 at 5 am when i do morning test every now and then but by 12 pm it's where it should be. As far as my top up water goes I've just let my circulation pump keep aimed up top to help turn the water over and after a few hours i have seen the ph creep up to where it should be. I never really have tested my top up water for anything it was just a curiosity of mine one day. Ts all good now folks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mini_reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014