Reef Central Online Community
Premium Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Tunze
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/14/2008, 10:20 AM   #101
agent6473
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 57
Sounds good. I'll send it in with information.

Thanks.


agent6473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2008, 12:33 AM   #102
ekrunch
OT Magician
 
ekrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 2,438
6212 Wavebox with 6260.10 - Stuck!

I just acquired a 6212 Wave box (with a 6260.10, in case it matters). The owner did clean the pump before putting it away and it has sat up for several months. It did not fire up initially so I disassembled it and have been soaking it for about 10 hours now. (Vinegar/Water solution)

I just tried to start it up again and am getting what sounds like a faint buzzer, but it's apparently not coming from the pump. Should I be worried by this or just allow the pump to soak longer and try again in the morning? I have been cleaning it off with a tooth brush and everything looks good.

Also, should I attempt to spin the impeller to see if it's stuck or anything? The impeller is easy to remove along with the lower bushing and o-ring. I have it completely disassembled but i'm wondering if there is any way I can test it before I power it up again. Just trying to cover all of my bases and avoid burning up a pump that still belongs to someone else.

Thanks in advance,
Ed


__________________
My life is a very complicated drinking game.

"Dude, it was a joke. If I were asking seriously, I wouldn't have posted it in the CMAS forums." - Krunchy on 04/22/08

Current Tank Info: None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Gone. I'm done.
ekrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2008, 12:48 AM   #103
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
Check that the drive unit spins freely on the upper bearing, also check whether it has the older 6100.60 drive unit as this drive unit could sound an alarm if the brake shoes are loose or broken. Only the oldest waveboxes have this drive unit, usually the pump would be brown.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2008, 12:40 PM   #104
ekrunch
OT Magician
 
ekrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 2,438
Quote:
Originally posted by rvitko
Check that the drive unit spins freely on the upper bearing, also check whether it has the older 6100.60 drive unit as this drive unit could sound an alarm if the brake shoes are loose or broken. Only the oldest waveboxes have this drive unit, usually the pump would be brown.
It has the newer one piece unit. 6200.700, and the pump is black. The drive unit does spin freely on it's bearing with no problems as far as I can tell.


__________________
My life is a very complicated drinking game.

"Dude, it was a joke. If I were asking seriously, I wouldn't have posted it in the CMAS forums." - Krunchy on 04/22/08

Current Tank Info: None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Gone. I'm done.
ekrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2008, 11:47 PM   #105
ekrunch
OT Magician
 
ekrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 2,438
So after another 24+ hours of the pump being disassembled and in vinegar & water, nothing exciting to report. Whenever I reassembled the pump and turned it on, I noticed the propeller jerk a bit. It then jerked a touch in the other direction when I cut the power off. Is this a good thing or a sign of a pump that needs repair? I mixed up a fresh batch of vinegar/water so i'll soak it for another 24 hours or so, seeing as the manual says 48 hours. Beyond that i'm out of ideas...

Anything else I can do here?

Thanks,
Ed


__________________
My life is a very complicated drinking game.

"Dude, it was a joke. If I were asking seriously, I wouldn't have posted it in the CMAS forums." - Krunchy on 04/22/08

Current Tank Info: None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Gone. I'm done.
ekrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/26/2008, 04:30 AM   #106
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
If the soak doesn't resolve it it must have an electrical issue. Contact Rodney- wartskin, he will get you set up to return it for service, turnaround time is very fast.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/26/2008, 01:45 PM   #107
ekrunch
OT Magician
 
ekrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 2,438
Thank you for your help Roger. It's nice to see the effort put forth on your part and speaks highly of the product and Tunze as a company.

I'll get with the original owner for service seeing as she has all of the receipts and such.


__________________
My life is a very complicated drinking game.

"Dude, it was a joke. If I were asking seriously, I wouldn't have posted it in the CMAS forums." - Krunchy on 04/22/08

Current Tank Info: None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Gone. I'm done.
ekrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/26/2008, 02:11 PM   #108
ekrunch
OT Magician
 
ekrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 2,438
One dumb question for the benefit of all who read this thread... do you have to put the cover back on the pumps to test them? I was just curious if they have a sensor or something that prohibits them from working without the cover.


__________________
My life is a very complicated drinking game.

"Dude, it was a joke. If I were asking seriously, I wouldn't have posted it in the CMAS forums." - Krunchy on 04/22/08

Current Tank Info: None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Gone. I'm done.
ekrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/17/2008, 05:39 AM   #109
rogergolf66
im an addict lol
 
rogergolf66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Land o lakes, FLorida
Posts: 12,950
Ok well this may have already been answered somewhere but I didn't see it.

well I got 2 6100 one with the old prop and one with the new prop.

I cleaned them to the T I thought anyways well after putting them back together one of them was vibrating alot. I didn't think much of it. well now 3 days later the warrning peeping started going off. Well before I cleaned them the warning peeping wasn't going off I was just doing maintanance cleaning.

why is it going off now?
what should I do?

just take it apart and clean it again? should I look for anything out of the norm when I have it apart?

Thanks roger


__________________
Goal levels: salinity 35ppt, temp 78-79, alk 8-9, cal 430-450, mag 1310-1400 po4 .03, no3 1-3

Current Tank Info: System 1... 100 gal Zoa tank I built, 30 gal Ric Yuma shroom tank, 30 gal mix tank my sons,40 gal softie tank, 40 gal nem tank, two 40 gal LPS tank. System 2... 240 gal SPS display attached 100 gal frag SPS only tank.
rogergolf66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/17/2008, 09:24 AM   #110
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
Is the one that is vibrating alot running with the old drive unit or the new one?


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/17/2008, 02:23 PM   #111
rogergolf66
im an addict lol
 
rogergolf66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Land o lakes, FLorida
Posts: 12,950
I just took it apart to check and the one that was vibrating alot is acctually the one that is till working fine. and it is the one with the new shaft.

the one that was still peeping was the old shaft but after taking it apart so far so good. we will see in a bit because it didn't peep right away after cleaning it took a day or so.

Roger


__________________
Goal levels: salinity 35ppt, temp 78-79, alk 8-9, cal 430-450, mag 1310-1400 po4 .03, no3 1-3

Current Tank Info: System 1... 100 gal Zoa tank I built, 30 gal Ric Yuma shroom tank, 30 gal mix tank my sons,40 gal softie tank, 40 gal nem tank, two 40 gal LPS tank. System 2... 240 gal SPS display attached 100 gal frag SPS only tank.
rogergolf66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/25/2008, 06:56 PM   #112
The McReefersons
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
I have 2 older 6000s I bought used, and 2 6200s I bought new about a year and a half ago. After about 6 or eight months of use I came home from work to find two units (1 of the 6000s and one of the 6200s) sounding their alarms. After thoroughly cleaning both (there was minimal build up and they both turned freely by hand prior to cleaning) there is no improvement, both pumps will not run. The remaining two still run like champs. What are your thoughts on the potential problem and it's remedy?


The McReefersons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/26/2008, 09:11 AM   #113
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
The most common cause is people overlook the upper bearing and it is cemented to the magnetic rotor by calcium. The upper bearing is part 3000.610, it sits at the bottom of the well.

Other causes could be a bad motor block or the driver having minor water damage or salt creep damage.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/27/2008, 10:11 PM   #114
The McReefersons
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
The upper bearing is clean and runs freely. The drivers are mounted high and dry, I highly doubt water damage there. Where do I go from here? I need to get these guys back on line.

I am really surprised that these things have failed, I figured if I kept them clean they would last darn near forever, that is the Tunze reputation, but 2 pumps out of four have failed me now...


The McReefersons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/29/2008, 09:35 AM   #115
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
Send them in, be sure your return and contact info is in the box.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin, TX 78753


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2008, 01:27 PM   #116
in_flight
Registered Member
 
in_flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 75
i woke up this morning to my tunze driver alarm beeping, i checked to make sure the pump and impeller were clean and still the impeller won't turn, i put the pump back in the water without the front housing to see if the impeller turns and it does about 1/4" the wrong way, this is causing the impeller stoppers to activate and thereby causing the alarm. what can i do to fix it? it seems that calcium buildup is not the problem, instead it's the impeller attempting to spin the wrong way!!

i bought the unit here on RC and so dont think it still falls under warranty

this is for the tunze 6100


in_flight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2008, 09:28 AM   #117
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
Double check that everything is clean. If it spins the wrong way it would likely be an electrical problem assuming the drive unit is clean and not binding up or broken. You would need to contact Xenia for repair service in Canada.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2008, 01:10 PM   #118
in_flight
Registered Member
 
in_flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 75
i've double checked everything and the whole unit is clean, i installed another 6100 to the same driver and it works without any issues. it seems that the defective 6100 is spinning the wrong way for some reason and is engaging the brakes

do you have the contact info for Xenia?


in_flight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2008, 02:20 PM   #119
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
It is on the tunze.com website under Canada. I don't have it handy.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2008, 11:38 AM   #120
Tony Romano
Registered Member
 
Tony Romano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sugar Land Texas
Posts: 899
What resets unit after alarm? Time?


__________________
Tony Romano

Why don't I have any money?

Current Tank Info: 215 & 90 mixed tanks
Tony Romano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2008, 09:27 AM   #121
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
It depends on the cause of the alarm, every 20 seconds the driver will try to restart the pump, if it was from air or a small piece of debris it will start itself. If it is because of lime deposits or a broken part it will have to be cleaned/repaired to solve the alarm problem.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2008, 10:36 AM   #122
Tony Romano
Registered Member
 
Tony Romano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sugar Land Texas
Posts: 899
I put impeller in different unit and it worked fine. Base with no impeller stays in alarm.


__________________
Tony Romano

Why don't I have any money?

Current Tank Info: 215 & 90 mixed tanks
Tony Romano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2008, 11:00 AM   #123
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,327
Of course, without an impeller you will get an alarm, any time there is no rotation in the pump it will alarm.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/08/2008, 08:24 PM   #124
Tony Romano
Registered Member
 
Tony Romano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sugar Land Texas
Posts: 899
Oh ok if i switch impellers does that tell us base is bad?


__________________
Tony Romano

Why don't I have any money?

Current Tank Info: 215 & 90 mixed tanks
Tony Romano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2008, 07:11 AM   #125
Tony Romano
Registered Member
 
Tony Romano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sugar Land Texas
Posts: 899
hello>>>


__________________
Tony Romano

Why don't I have any money?

Current Tank Info: 215 & 90 mixed tanks
Tony Romano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.