Reef Central Online Community
Tampa Bay Saltwater

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 10/10/2015, 09:16 PM   #1
schwebb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ca. bay area
Posts: 283
Simplicity Skimmer

Anyone ever heard of or use a Simplicity skimmer DC 320


schwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/12/2015, 10:25 PM   #2
shaywood
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 157
I'm curious also. Would like to hear how these work for folks.


shaywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/13/2015, 12:50 AM   #3
moondoggy4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: menifee So cal
Posts: 10,949
I saw them at the RAP show over the weekend. They seem like nice little skimmers, MAP pricing imported by the olde Reef Geek guys and they are know for C/S but they are wholesale now. I liked the smallest unit I think it would be nice on a small tank.


moondoggy4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/22/2015, 09:58 AM   #4
Count Percula
Registered Member
 
Count Percula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 36
Simplicity 320DC

I just bought the largest Simplicity skimmer (DC320) and plan to install it today on my 180. I was going back and forth between a Bubble Magus Curve 7 and this Simplicity model after seeing it in my lfs. The lfs is changing all of their in-store skimmers from big Bubble Magus to this line.

They seem to work quite well in the store, the build quality is excellent, and the thing is just a beast, compared to my current undersized eShopps. Here's a couple pics for anyone interested and I'll post more after I get it installed and skimming.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0806.jpg (80.2 KB, 506 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0808.jpg (72.0 KB, 409 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0810.jpg (69.9 KB, 456 views)
__________________
Aqueon 180 Starphire, Simplicity D320 skimmer, 60" LED, 2x48" T5 HO(ATI Blue+ & purple), 2x60" VHO(Aquasun and actinic), 20g sump w/LR & 15g Fuge, BRS GAC/GFO, Return is Pan World 50-PX-X. 300bs LR.

Current Tank Info: 180g Mixed Corals Reef
Count Percula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/22/2015, 12:52 PM   #5
schwebb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ca. bay area
Posts: 283
I got my 120 set up and skimmer has been running for less than a week. Still breaking in but so far I like what I see


__________________
Chris

Current Tank Info: 120
schwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/03/2015, 09:45 PM   #6
Count Percula
Registered Member
 
Count Percula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 36
Smile So happy w/Simplicity DC320

Well, I'm about 11 days in, after installation, and this skimmer is producing skimmate like a beast!

It took about 9 days for breakin, then it just kicked into high gear. I was beginning to get a bit nervous that it was taking so long to break in, even though the manufacturer notes that it might take a week or so for breakin.

Anyway, hopefully you can see how well it's working in the attached pic. It created about a 1/2 inch of nasty skimmate between yesterday and today. I am so thrilled with this new skimmer.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0825.jpg (43.0 KB, 592 views)
__________________
Aqueon 180 Starphire, Simplicity D320 skimmer, 60" LED, 2x48" T5 HO(ATI Blue+ & purple), 2x60" VHO(Aquasun and actinic), 20g sump w/LR & 15g Fuge, BRS GAC/GFO, Return is Pan World 50-PX-X. 300bs LR.

Current Tank Info: 180g Mixed Corals Reef
Count Percula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/03/2015, 09:49 PM   #7
schwebb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ca. bay area
Posts: 283
Wow that looks great. Mine seems to be working ok, but little to no crap to skim. New tank, acid washed rock, based live sand, and 7 damsels in a 120. Water is cycled now and I'm going to finish the canopy this weekend.


__________________
Chris

Current Tank Info: 120
schwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2016, 02:31 PM   #8
liquidfunk
Premium Member
 
liquidfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 915
Anyone else have one?


__________________
Feed Your Obsession
liquidfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2016, 02:38 PM   #9
chilli_reef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chillicothe Ohio
Posts: 471
I've got the 240dc on my 75g.
Love it.


__________________
"But did you die !"

Current Tank Info: 75g nondrilled reef.
chilli_reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2016, 02:58 PM   #10
schwebb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ca. bay area
Posts: 283
Mine has really been doing a great job. Pulls out a ton


__________________
Chris

Current Tank Info: 120
schwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/24/2016, 06:23 PM   #11
russ13
Registered Member
 
russ13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: lake elsinore
Posts: 647
I just ordered a 120 for my 60 gallon. Does anyone know what water level works best for them??i really like that you can adjust the air, output and pump speed. I think it will make dialing it in pretty easy and very precise


russ13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2016, 10:53 AM   #12
Count Percula
Registered Member
 
Count Percula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 36
I run my DC320 in about 9 1/2 inches, which is about the max depth the manufacturer recommends. It works great there. I tried it at 10 inches and it was a pain to dial in.

I haven't tried running it any shallower, but it's supposed to operate between 7 1/2 - 9 1/2 inches.


__________________
Aqueon 180 Starphire, Simplicity D320 skimmer, 60" LED, 2x48" T5 HO(ATI Blue+ & purple), 2x60" VHO(Aquasun and actinic), 20g sump w/LR & 15g Fuge, BRS GAC/GFO, Return is Pan World 50-PX-X. 300bs LR.

Current Tank Info: 180g Mixed Corals Reef
Count Percula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/25/2016, 04:01 PM   #13
litebulb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6
i just picked up a 320 today, i have it running with the air valve open and the water adjustment know lined up arrow to arrow. Its been on about an hour and its pushing all kinds of bubbles out and in the cup. Is this normal during break in? i have the drain plug open so it can freely drain back in the sump since its not "skimming" yet. Agree on the quality it is super nice!


litebulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/26/2016, 08:27 PM   #14
AquaFrenzy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Central CT
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Count Percula View Post
Well, I'm about 11 days in, after installation, and this skimmer is producing skimmate like a beast!

It took about 9 days for breakin, then it just kicked into high gear. I was beginning to get a bit nervous that it was taking so long to break in, even though the manufacturer notes that it might take a week or so for breakin.

Anyway, hopefully you can see how well it's working in the attached pic. It created about a 1/2 inch of nasty skimmate between yesterday and today. I am so thrilled with this new skimmer.
is that skimate in lower chamber? cant tell in pic, looks like its skimming well maybe just need to raise the water level inside if so


AquaFrenzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/26/2016, 08:51 PM   #15
Coachb9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 90
Does this come in a HOB option model? I didn't go with the predrilled aquarium so I am required to get the HOB version. I am looking for a good quality skimmer to go on my new 55 gallon. Thanks


Coachb9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/27/2016, 02:15 AM   #16
bshow24
Registered Member
 
bshow24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachb9 View Post
Does this come in a HOB option model? I didn't go with the predrilled aquarium so I am required to get the HOB version. I am looking for a good quality skimmer to go on my new 55 gallon. Thanks
You can always go HOB overflow and get a sump. I use to have a CPR HOB skimmer and it didnt work too well...then I sold it and used the cash to buy a HOB overflow and built a sump and now I have a solid tank going with more water volume and consistency.


__________________
40 Gallon Breeder - Ecotech Radion XR30 Pro -x2 T5 Supplement Lights - x2 Maxspect Gyre 230 - x1 Vortech MP10
17 Gallon Cube - Ecotech Radion XR15 Pro - Ecotech Vortech MP10 - Sea Swirl
29 Gallon D

Current Tank Info: Intertwined 40 Breeder and 17 Gallon Cube
bshow24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/05/2016, 10:59 PM   #17
1000rrstunna
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 110
Just built and installed a 120 on my 55 gallon total volume system and I was super impressed with the quality... I used to use reef octopus classics but they waste so much space and this is near silent. I'm in love so far... Don't hesitate to try one.


1000rrstunna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/26/2016, 06:57 AM   #18
rekt
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
How do you know when it's fully broken in? Mines has been running fully open for over a week now and still no skimmate


rekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/26/2016, 07:33 AM   #19
scooter31707
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,974
I just purchased the 540DC for my 240 I put up this weekend. I have heard really good things about them. I have mines running in some ro/di water and vinegar right now. I also purchased their return pump. Very nice pump and quiet.


__________________
240 gallon w/ 125 gallon sump and 30 gallon refugium

Current Tank Info: 240 (cycling) w/ 125 sump
scooter31707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/26/2016, 08:29 AM   #20
schwebb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ca. bay area
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekt View Post
How do you know when it's fully broken in? Mines has been running fully open for over a week now and still no skimmate
Mine took longer than that. I can't remember exactly how long, but it was a while. Make sure the water level in your sump is high enough for the skimmer to sit in


__________________
Chris

Current Tank Info: 120
schwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/26/2016, 11:05 AM   #21
liquidfunk
Premium Member
 
liquidfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 915
Rekt, you should read the FAQ about tuning the skimmer to make sure you're doing it right.
http://www.simplicityaquatics.com/faq/


__________________
Feed Your Obsession
liquidfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/26/2016, 08:48 PM   #22
2000se
Registered Member
 
2000se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: charlotte
Posts: 486
the pumps there look just like the jeabo pumps.


2000se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/28/2016, 03:37 PM   #23
JoeTSI
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 250
My 240 arrives today and will provide a full report. And yes, the pump and the controller resembles the Jaebo pumps.


__________________
Joe
210 Gallon; Vortech MP40; Maxspect Gyre 280; 2xKessil AP700; Tunze ATO with custom 15 gallon acrylic top off tank; BRS Dual Media Reactor
JoeTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/29/2016, 09:45 AM   #24
THE ROOK
Registered Member
 
THE ROOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 2,119
Big fan of the 120 I'm running. Very quiet and works great. Cant beat it for the price.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk


THE ROOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2016, 12:34 AM   #25
rekt
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidfunk View Post
Rekt, you should read the FAQ about tuning the skimmer to make sure you're doing it right.
http://www.simplicityaquatics.com/faq/
I've read the FAQ many times......I've tried just about everything now. I've adjusted the height to the max level and down to the lowest level, I've adjusted the water level even the adjusted the air valve still no skimmate. I am getting brown gunk in the neck with light foam but it doesn't foam enough to make it over the neck of the skimmer. If I adjust the water level I can get it to wet skim but its almost clear liquid with just bubbles not really a foam. According to the simplicity website brown waste in the neck is a sign that the skimmer is broken in. So technically I guess it is broken in, just not skimming. Not sure why I'm having such a hard time with this skimmer. Its been going for around 3-4 weeks now and I'm about ready to give up and sell it


rekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.