Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/01/2020, 10:18 PM   #1
rubinsteindy
Registered Member

Coral Questions

Hello, I am new to the saltwater fish tank hobby and have been trying to figure out corals. Currently I have a 10g saltwater tank with 2 clownfish, 1 fire fish, and 1 cleaner shrimp. I have a lid with good lighting on the tank and I bought live rock and live sand to go with it. I check the stats of the water twice a week and everything is where it should be( I think). I just introduced 4 corals and they are concerning me. I put them in the tank around 4 days ago and have noticed a few things. 2 of them open a lot during the day and the other two don’t move at all. I have also noticed tiny white dots on two of my corals and I’ve seen little bugs that swim around on them. I wasn’t really sure what they were but I took them out anyways just to make sure they were noting bad. I could really use some advice or help from anyone! Thanks.

rubinsteindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/02/2020, 06:59 AM   #2
Alex114
Registered Member

What parameters do you measure? Post the values you get and we can tell you if they’re ok. What kind of corals are they? Can’t really tell if anything’s wrong without even knowing what they are. A pic would be even better. As for the white dots it’s probably snail eggs but again without a pic could be anything. And the little clear bugs you see are likely copopods which are in just about everyone’s tank

Alex114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/02/2020, 07:13 AM   #3
jmsilhy
Registered Member

Coral Questions

In this section of the forums, read a post titled “Are corals that hard? FYI” by Sk8r. It has a lot of great information that should help you a lot.

jmsilhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/02/2020, 08:46 AM   #4
rubinsteindy
Registered Member

Quote: