Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Large Reef Tanks
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/11/2017, 07:29 PM   #1
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
NEW 400 gallon in wall build NC

Hello all,

I started a thread in the "new to hobby" section but figured this would be a better place to start the full build thread. I will post some of the original drawings ect and then start the current build information.

A bit of background, I had a 90 gallon salt water reef tank many years ago and cut my teeth on that with the only automation being a couple timers and a few float valves so everything was done manual.

this time i am building a 400 gallon 7'x3'x2' tall built in tank with a full fish room behind it (14'x8').

Please let me know if anyone has any ideas or suggestions as i am going to be new to hobby again and alot has changed in the 15 years that i have been away......


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 07:37 PM   #2
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
here are the drawings, there are some small changes but i will make edits and upload them soon


Attached Files
File Type: pdf tank with floor.pdf (66.1 KB, 35 views)
File Type: pdf fish room.pdf (24.8 KB, 29 views)
scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 07:46 PM   #3
asonitez
Floodicus Maximus Flooris
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,588
What part of NC any equipment choices yet?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


asonitez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 07:47 PM   #4
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
here is a list of the equipment i am planning on getting:

CUSTOM TANK AND METAL STAND PLANET AQUARIUM - GLASS starfire 7'x3'x2'
REEF OCTOPUS - VARIOS-8 CONTROLLABLE DC CIRCULATION (2)
EcoTech Marine VorTech MP10wQD Propeller Pumps (2x) + Battery
ECOTECH MARINE VORTECH MP60W-ES W/WIRELESS WAVE (2)
Kessil AP700 (3)
TRIGGER EMERALD SUMP 39" X 16"
SPECTRAPURE MAXCAP UHE 100 GPD RO/DI SYSTEM
Neptune Systems APEX WiFi Controller System
WIRELESS EXPANSION MODULE/VORTECH COMPATIBLE
NEPTUNE SYSTEMS FLUID MONITORING KIT (FMM, (2) FS-50, (4)
NEPTUNE APEX AUTOMATIC TOP-OFF KIT
NEPTUNE SYSTEMS APEX AUTOMATIC FEEDING SYSTEM (AFS)
NEPTUNE SYSTEMS LEAK DETECTION KIT (FMM, (2) LD-2)


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 07:50 PM   #5
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by asonitez View Post
What part of NC any equipment choices yet?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
i live south of Asheville NC (actually i live north of greenville SC right now ) but building a home and new fish room in NC. house will be done in february


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 08:02 PM   #6
OurCoralReef
Registered Member
 
OurCoralReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 230
Following
So a tank in the bedroom hmmmm


OurCoralReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 08:15 PM   #7
dcmartinpc
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Niles, MI
Posts: 332
I would seriously consider upgrading those MP10wQD to MP40wQD assuming they are for the back of the tank. My tank is 5x3x2 and I run 2 60s, 1 on each end and 2 40s on the back. Also, the glass will likely be at least 1/2Ē thick and I havenít had great luck getting 10s to stick with 1/2Ē.

Don


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
I glue animals to rocks...

Current Tank Info: 225G 5x3x2, 2 x 400w Radium on Dual PFO HQI, 2-Blue+, 2-Actinic, 2 x MP40w ES, 2 x Maxspect Gyre and 60 Cube LPS, 6-Blue+, 2-Purple+, 2xMP40w ES. Common 150 Rubbermaid sump. All driven with an Apex.
dcmartinpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 08:25 PM   #8
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by OurCoralReef View Post
Following
So a tank in the bedroom hmmmm
it is actually in the living room and the door to the fish room is off the hallway to the bedroom.

i am going to have the walls insulated and plywood under the sheetrock for sound and for mounting abilities.

also there is going to be a exhaust fan in the fish room to remove any odor and humidity.


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 09:13 PM   #9
OurCoralReef
Registered Member
 
OurCoralReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott11106 View Post
it is actually in the living room and the door to the fish room is off the hallway to the bedroom.



i am going to have the walls insulated and plywood under the sheetrock for sound and for mounting abilities.



also there is going to be a exhaust fan in the fish room to remove any odor and humidity.


Ohh ok
Very nice looking forward to the build


OurCoralReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2017, 10:36 PM   #10
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 16,268
Those dimensions more like 300 gallons.


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2017, 07:11 AM   #11
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1ore View Post
Those dimensions more like 300 gallons.


Lol, you are correct, boy do I feel dumb. I was reading another thread and decided to start this one. Also I was going to build s 400 but the jump between 300 and 400 gallon was significant so I decided to drop down to 300 gallons.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2017, 07:34 AM   #12
Ncfishguy
Registered Member
 
Ncfishguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Pembroke
Posts: 64
Cool I'm in n.c also

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk


Ncfishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2017, 08:41 AM   #13
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 16,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott11106 View Post
Lol, you are correct, boy do I feel dumb. I was reading another thread and decided to start this one. Also I was going to build s 400 but the jump between 300 and 400 gallon was significant so I decided to drop down to 300 gallons.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Haha, don't. Done the same thing myself many times. Now I always just do the math either way, it'll be a kickin tank.


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2017, 09:30 PM   #14
10Seconds
Registered Member
 
10Seconds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 50
300 is still huge. I just did my 220 build and thought that was huge!


10Seconds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2017, 08:18 AM   #15
vitodog
Registered Member
 
vitodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 1,187
Where are you planning to use those MP10's? If you are going to use them on the D/T, your glass may be too thick for the MP10.


__________________
Current Tank Info: 124.7 gal. Reef Savvy D/T, Trigger Systems 36" sump, SRO XP-2000SSS, GHL Mitras LX7 x 3, Profilux3, Doser2 (Slave) Vector M1 return Pump, MP40w QD x 2
vitodog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2017, 07:53 PM   #16
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitodog View Post
Where are you planning to use those MP10's? If you are going to use them on the D/T, your glass may be too thick for the MP10.
i was planning to use them for the display but i was thinking of going a different route and use varioS pumps and drill the tank.this way i would not need any powerheads and it works with the Apex system.

what do you all think of this idea?


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 03:34 PM   #17
Unicorn2093
Registered Member
 
Unicorn2093's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 44
Looking forward to follow your thread ��


__________________
Colour is only a pigment of your imagination...

Unicorn2093 = Liquidsky = Vegard Haugen
Unicorn2093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 05:38 PM   #18
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
here are some pics of the house under construction (fish room)
4212 and 4204 are viewing from living room to tank/fish room, 4208 is from inside fish room looking to living room....we are officially dried in as of today, shingles go on thursday.

we are on our way.....


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG-4212.JPG (32.9 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg IMG-4204.JPG (79.2 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg IMG-4208.JPG (93.7 KB, 19 views)
scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 05:43 PM   #19
Unicorn2093
Registered Member
 
Unicorn2093's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 44
Yaay, exciting.
Keep those updates coming!


__________________
Colour is only a pigment of your imagination...

Unicorn2093 = Liquidsky = Vegard Haugen
Unicorn2093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 05:59 PM   #20
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott11106 View Post
i was planning to use them for the display but i was thinking of going a different route and use varioS pumps and drill the tank.this way i would not need any powerheads and it works with the Apex system.

what do you all think of this idea?
I think it really depends on what type of livestock you are planning on. If you are planning on keeping SPS then I donít feel this would be sufficient. Youíll need atleast 30x gph of water flow. You might even limit some fish you should probably keep. A lot of tangs live in surge zones and require extreme flow. If youíre planning FOWLR (with compatible fish) then that would probably be okay. Also, Iím not sure why you are trying to abandon power heads. Your tank is an in wall and you wonít see the dry end of the vortechs.

Lastly, Iíd reconsider your sump. I donít think that trigger sump will be big enough. You will have a hard time fitting the right sized equipment thatís needed for a tank your size. More importantly, the sump might not be big enough to support the amount of water that back flows when you turn off your pumps for maintance. That to me is a flood waiting to happen.

I look forward to more pictures and following along.


JaySchulz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 11:01 AM   #21
scott11106
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaySchulz View Post
I think it really depends on what type of livestock you are planning on. If you are planning on keeping SPS then I donít feel this would be sufficient. Youíll need atleast 30x gph of water flow. You might even limit some fish you should probably keep. A lot of tangs live in surge zones and require extreme flow. If youíre planning FOWLR (with compatible fish) then that would probably be okay. Also, Iím not sure why you are trying to abandon power heads. Your tank is an in wall and you wonít see the dry end of the vortechs.



Lastly, Iíd reconsider your sump. I donít think that trigger sump will be big enough. You will have a hard time fitting the right sized equipment thatís needed for a tank your size. More importantly, the sump might not be big enough to support the amount of water that back flows when you turn off your pumps for maintance. That to me is a flood waiting to happen.



I look forward to more pictures and following along.


I will look into that, does anyone have ideas on heat/air as I need to let ac guy know what to do pretty soon here, not sure if I should integrate it into the house central heat and air or spend the money to have a small stand also be unit in the room


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


scott11106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 09:17 AM   #22
sjaz
Registered Member
 
sjaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 10
I had a central air duct put into my tank room. Makes it nicer to work in a climate controlled tank room. Also had an exhaust fan (bathroom type) put in to help pull humidity out. Still need a chiller to control tank temp in Houston, TX.


sjaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014