Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/14/2017, 05:48 PM   #1
bighead
Registered Member
 
bighead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 440
Tank ready to overflow

I have a 90 gal RR tank with 40 gal sump I have been running this setup for a couple of years the water level in tank is getting higher and the sump level is getting lower what would cause this my pump is running good and there are no clogs anywhere in any pipe


bighead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 06:01 PM   #2
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 380
Is there a significant amount of algae buildup in the plumbing? This could effectively not allow as much flow.


JaySchulz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 06:03 PM   #3
Dmorty217
Saltwater Addict
 
Dmorty217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vandalia OHIO
Posts: 10,432
Something is restricting the flow into the sump of the setup has been running for years


__________________
Fish are not disposable commodities, but a worthwhile investment that can be maintained and enjoyed for many years, providing one is willing to take the time to understand their requirements and needs

Current Tank Info: 625g, 200g sump, RD3 230w, Vectra L1 on a closed loop, 2 MP60s, MP40, and a Tunze 6305
Dmorty217 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 06:06 PM   #4
ROB2005
Reefing Is My Passion!
 
ROB2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 648
Do you have a ball valve on the return? If so throttle down the flow so the so the flow going out is equal to the flow coming in. Be sure to check for clogs or any other type of buildup in your pipes.


__________________
If at first you don't succeed at reefing, break it down and set back up😁

Current Tank Info: 75 gallon corner overflow, 4-54W T-5 , dozen blue hermits, tiger pistol/yellow watchman gobby, royal gramma, yellowhead hawkish, dispar anthias
ROB2005 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 06:10 PM   #5
bighead
Registered Member
 
bighead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 440
I took everything apart today there was almost no build up in any of the pipes I cleaned everything up and put it back together


bighead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 06:37 PM   #6
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,598
What type of overflow is on this tank?
Got pictures?
How much has the level changed?
How fast is it changing?
Is the level staying consistent (just higher than it was) or is it just filling up and you need to turn it off?...

Give more specific details/behaviors on exactly whats happening,etc...


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 06:38 PM   #7
rocsec1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Medina oh
Posts: 1,544
Same return pump? Perhaps the flow from the pump has changed? If you aren’t using a valve to balance the flow I would suggest that.


rocsec1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 09:06 PM   #8
bighead
Registered Member
 
bighead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 440
I use a durso overflow
The level changes over a couple of days
The durso can handle way more gph than I am putting through it it is just a little odd that it is happening
I have tried all the suggestions I will see what happens in a couple of days
It sucks because my tank will overflow in the display but my sump will not overflow


bighead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 06:11 AM   #9
Rover88
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighead View Post
I use a durso overflow
The level changes over a couple of days
The durso can handle way more gph than I am putting through it it is just a little odd that it is happening
I have tried all the suggestions I will see what happens in a couple of days
It sucks because my tank will overflow in the display but my sump will not overflow

Something has to be happening to restrict the flow. Its physics, it can't /not/ be happening. Somewhere, something is restricting the flow more then it used to, or your pump is pushing more then it used to and the durso can't keep up. Water can't get up there otherwise!

My sump return pump area doesn't have enough water in it to overflow the tank; I designed the water level in that area to cause the pump to run 'dry' and cease pumping water before it'll put water on the floor. Its not a perfect fix, but its my last ditch avoid-a-flood protection. Ideally I'll never get there, but just in case...

Better to damage a pump then soak my apartment, in my mind.


Rover88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 07:18 AM   #10
Shamous113
Registered Member
 
Shamous113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 51
sounds like the pump is slowly increasing its speed after you set the flow on your drains. What pump are you running? how old is it? when was the last time you took it apart and cleaned it? also check for damage and fit on the impeller, shaft and bushings.


__________________
Current tank: 150gal mixed reef display w/120gal basement sump
Shamous113 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 08:15 AM   #11
bighead
Registered Member
 
bighead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 440
I run a Jaebo Dc 1200 for over a year I clean it pretty often once a month or do


bighead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 08:44 AM   #12
Shamous113
Registered Member
 
Shamous113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighead View Post
I run a Jaebo Dc 1200 for over a year I clean it pretty often once a month or do
It could be a symptom of the power supply or controller dying, do you have a spare on hand? I know on the DCT1500 they increased the size of the power supply from 5amp to 6amp just after they came out. they were cooking power supplies.


__________________
Current tank: 150gal mixed reef display w/120gal basement sump
Shamous113 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 09:20 AM   #13
crawlerman
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 328
Seems obvious, but did you clean out the teeth (for lack of a better term) on the overflow?


crawlerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 02:52 PM   #14
hkgar
Registered Member
 
hkgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dewitt MI
Posts: 3,741
Look, quite simply if the DT level is going up and the sump level down than more water is entering the DT than leaving the DT.

It's your job to figure out why. If your drain can, as you said, handle more flow, than if someone came and poured 20 gallons into your DT your sump would overflow, not the DT


__________________
Gary


180 gallon, 30 gallon sump, 3 250W Radiums,4 ATI T5's, MTC MVX 36 Skimmer, Apex controller Reef Octopus CaRx

Current Tank Info: Midas Blenny, Yellow/Purple, Red Head, Hoevans, Possum Wrasses, 2 Barred Rabbit, Cherub & Spotbreast Angle, Kole, Purple & Caribbean Tangs, Matted Filefish, 2 Percula Clown, 4 PJ Cardinals
hkgar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 03:13 PM   #15
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 16,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlerman View Post
Seems obvious, but did you clean out the teeth (for lack of a better term) on the overflow?
Display level gradually rose in my last tank because coralline algae was slowly narrowing the slots in the weir.


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014