Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Advanced Topics
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/20/2020, 10:14 PM   #1
apache2a
Registered Member

Post Filtration for 300 Gallon Fish Only Tank with no Live Rock

I have some experience with both fish and reef tanks in the United States. I now live in the Philippines and would like to have a tank. I would really like to have a reef tank, but all coral, live sand and live rock is illegal to possess (crazy I know). My idea of course was to have live rock as my main filtration media, but since it is illegal to possess it, I have to turn to alternatives. I won't have coral, just fish and possibly inverts and anemones which are OK, but right now mostly just looking to have fish.

Without live rock, how would you set up filtration?

I have a 100 gallon acrylic tank (kind of scratched up) I plan to use as a sump/refugium. I was thinking of using bioballs...but looking through threads the majority seems to think they are nitrate factories. I will run a skimmer.

I was thinking to get a couple thousand bio balls and have that set up from the overflow (using a sock filter before it). One major question, if I have bioballs in the sump where they are not getting the trickle/flow from overhead, can they act as live rock in taking out some of the nitrates?

Then in the second larger compartment of the sump, the tentative plan is to make it the refugium area mostly just with algae under grow lights.

Then in the last smallest part having the skimmer, before the return to the tank.

I thought about putting bioballs after the skimmer...to skim before it goes for the bio balls to work, but not sure if that would help any.

Any additional ideas are greatly appreciated.

apache2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/21/2020, 09:56 AM   #2
Michael Hoaster
Registered Seaweedist

Welcome to RC apache2a!