Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read


Thread Tools
Old 03/08/2018, 07:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Basic question about Aqua Illumination lights

I have an AI vega color with director. The light will get stuck if lost connection to director. This means I need to have the director on all the time in order to run scheduled settings.
My question is, newer lights like hydra, hydra 52, hydra HD. Do they require controller to be on all the time or they have memory on the light so you can set and forget?


youngfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 08:36 PM   #2
Registered Member
Gatorfan's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 510
The new wireless ones are set and forget.

120 gallon, MP20, AquaMaxx Q2, AI SOL Blue(x2)
Coral Beauty Angel, Regal Angel, Potters Angel, pair of Occ. Clowns, Tomini Tang.

Started 6/9/2012
Gatorfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 10:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 847
The older hydra n hydra 26,52 will need a separate controller, the new hydra HD’s have built in WiFi.

aznflyfisherman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/09/2018, 04:57 PM   #4
Registered Member
Indymann99's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,379
Originally Posted by aznflyfisherman View Post
The older hydra n hydra 26,52 will need a separate controller, the new hydra HDs have built in WiFi.
Not sure what you are saying... my Hydra26 (non-HD) has wireless connection to my APEX AWM...

fullsizeoutput_2d1******** async src="//" charset="utf-8">

IMG_1190******** async src="//" charset="utf-8">

You may mean that the new HDs have built-in "controller" that is accessed via wifi from your client (phone, tablet, pc)?

120g DT 100lbs LR / 200 lbs LS, 45g fuge, VectraM1 Return, Herbie drain, 4x RW-8, 2x AI Hydra 26 w AWM, ASM G2, Apex controller, Apex BoB w floats ATO
Indymann99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2018, 08:14 AM   #5
Registered Member
gabe145's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Key Largo, FL
Posts: 51
Either use a completely separate controller, But I have both Prime HD and Hydra HD lights, I set them up with the app on my phone and forget it.

gabe145 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 AM.

TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014